Skip to content

Physics News Highlights

June 26, 2018
Those Long Hours Really Do Pay Off
Jason Bane

Graduate Student Jason Bane’s dedication to research at the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility was duly rewarded last week with an informal award for “Most Night Shifts in Hall A.” Those long hours paid off not only with this good-natured, informal student recognition, but also with a 2018 JSA (Jefferson Science Associates) Graduate Fellowship. Jefferson Lab draws scientists from all over the world to use its Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility (CEBAF), a unique particle accelerator researchers use to probe the building blocks of matter. To ensure a new generation of scientific leaders in this field, JSA instituted this fellowship program in 1989 to support graduate students working alongside Jefferson Lab scientists. Bane will work with his advisor, Assistant Professor Nadia Fomin, on the EMC effect in three-body systems. He won previous support for these studies with a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science Graduate Student Research Program award.

JSA manages and operates Jefferson Lab for the Department of Energy Office of Science, whose programs and user facilities address and advance the country’s needs in advanced scientific computing, basic energy sciences, biological and environmental research, fusion energy sciences, and high energy and nuclear physics.

Siopsis to Present at Army Symposium
George Siopsis

Professor George Siopsis has been invited to give a presentation at the Army Science & Technology Symposium and Showcase. The conference is set for August 21-23 in Washington, DC. Siopsis will speak on Quantum-secured Communications Over an Optical Network. He is part of the Quantum Technologies Group, whose research centers on the properties of quantum mechanics for potential applications such as quantum computing and cryptography and brings together scientists from UT and Oak Ridge National Laboratory. The symposium’s full program is available online.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.