Skip to content

Honors Day 2017

The physics department hosted the annual honors day ceremonies April 24, recognizing a distinguished alumnus, outstanding students, and the teacher of the year. Below is a list of all the honorees.

Dr. Laszlo Adler

2017 Distinguished Alumni Honoree & Speaker
1969 PhD Graduate

Laszlo Adler

Dr. Laszlo Adler (left) accepts the Distinguished Alumni Award from Department Head Hanno Weitering.

A native of Hungary, Laszlo Adler earned a master’s degree in physics at Michigan State University, where he began working in the field of ultrasonics. He taught at the General Motors Institute in Flint, Michigan, where he developed a course on ultrasonics and became acquainted with its application to industrial problems. He came to the University of Tennessee in 1966, where he taught fulltime while working toward his doctorate. He earned the PhD in 1969 for his dissertation on Parametric Excitation of Ultrasonic Waves: Linear and Nonlinear Phenomena. He joined the faculty and also began a long and fruitful tenure as a consultant at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. In 1980 he joined the faculty at Ohio State University, where he held chaired professorships in the departments of Welding Engineering and Engineering Mechanics. He also developed OSU’s interdisciplinary graduate program on nondestructive evaluation: the first such program in the United States. In 1993, he won Ohio State’s Distinguished Scholar Award. He also established Adler Consultants to help both federal and private agencies develop methods and systems in nondestructive evaluation. Dr. Adler is co-author of the book Ultrasonic Spectral Analysis for Nondestructive Evaluation and has authored 12 book chapters. He holds four patents and has published more than 200 papers on physical acoustics and its application to nondestructive evaluation and material characterization. The department was pleased to honor Dr. Adler with this year’s Distinguished Alumni Award “for his outstanding contributions to ultrasonics, nondestructive evaluation, and materials characterization.”

Outstanding First Year Physics Student: Adam Bryant

Robert Talley Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research: Brandon Barker

James W. McConnell Award for Academic Excellence: Chima McGruder

Douglas V. Roseberry Award: Louis Varriano

Robert W. Lide Citation: David McCallister

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award: Phil Dee

Outstanding Tutor Award: Aaron Kirby

Colloquium Award: Xin Wen

Paul Stelson Fellowships | Beginning Research: Tyler Smith; Professional Promise: Shaozhi Li

Fowler-Marion Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Daniel Odell

Society of Physics Students Teacher of the Year Award: Lucas Platter

Other spring honors for the physics department:

2017 Chancellor's Honors


Extraordinary Academic Achievement: Chima McGruder

Extraordinary Professional Promise: Kevin Bass, Jose Bonilla, Daniel Odell, Brooke Carter, Brandon Cathey, Ghaneshwar Gautam, Chima McGruder, Mae Scott, Cory Thornsberry

Undergraduate Researcher of the Year: Louis Varriano

Torchbearer: Louis Varriano

Research and Creative Achievement: Robert Grzywacz

EURēCA Awards

William Franklin Harris III Undergraduate Research Award: Louis Varriano

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.