Skip to content

Physics Faculty Win College Honors

Kate Jones Haidong Zhou

Two physics faculty members were among those honored at this year’s College of Art and Sciences awards ceremony on December 7. Kate Jones and Haidong Zhou were recognized for excellence in research and creative achievement. Jones, who joined the faculty in 2006, was awarded a senior-level honor, while Zhou, a faculty member since 2012, was honored with a mid-career award.

This is the fourth year out of five that physics professors have won a senior research award. It’s also the second award for Jones, who was recognized in 2009 with a junior-level honor.

Jones is an experimentalist who studies nuclear astrophysics and nuclear structure, while Zhou's research is in experimental condensed matter physics.

Each year, faculty are recognized for their contributions to the college, the university, and the impact of their teaching and research. Tennessee Today has published a complete list of this year’s awardees.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.