Skip to content

Physics Shines at 2017 Chancellor's Honors

The physics department had a stellar night at the April 19 Chancellor’s Honors, claiming top student and faculty awards. Undergraduate Louis Varriano was recognized as a Torchbearer, which is the highest honor given to UT students and reserved for graduating seniors who have exhibited academic excellence and service to the university and society at large. He was also named the Undergraduate Researcher of the Year. Professor Robert Grzywacz, part of the scientific team that literally put Tennessee on the periodic table, was recognized with a Research and Creative Achievement Honor. Nine students were recognized for Extraordinary Professional Promise, including Chima McGruder, who was also honored for Extraordinary Academic Achievement.

Congratulations to our 2017 honorees!

Extraordinary Professional Promise: Kevin Bass, Jose Bonilla, Daniel Odell, Brooke Carter, Brandon Cathey, Ghaneshwar Gautam, Chima McGruder, Mae Scott, Cory Thornsberry
(30% of Arts and Sciences Extraordinary Professional Promise Honorees)

Torchbearer: Louis Varriano

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.